Phonitor xe in EAR IN

Headphone magazine EAR IN published a review about our headphone amplifier Phonitor xe.

“Originally designed for professional studio application, the Phonitor headphone amplifiers by SPL’s studio pros have won the heart of many headphone enthusiasts. Since then, SPL has continuously expanded their Phonitor model series. The newest member is the Phonitor xe.”

“Like all Phonitor models, of course the Phonitor xe also works with the 120V Voltair technology, in terms of amplification, which provides a huge dynamic scope. Fans of the Crossfeed circuit will also get their money’s worth: The Phonitor xe features the big Phonitor Matrix with its various settings options.”

Sound:

“The sound of all SPL headphone amplifiers is simply put flawless. They offer the neutrality and preciseness, that you expect from high-quality pro audio devices and they even manage to sound musically at the same time.”

The Phonitor xe is the first Phonitor headphone amplifier which can be equipped with the brand-new DAC768. This optional internal Uber-DAC qualifies the Phonitor xe to convert with outstanding sonic performance. An audio resolution of 32 bits and PCM sample rates up to 768kHz as well as DSD – up to DSD256 – are the impressive numbers.

“Separate consideration needs to be given to the built-in DAC. Because, in comparison to other devices I like to listen with, it has a decent individual character, which on the the one hand is very neutral, but through proven abilities in terms of bass tones it calls attention to the low frequencies, which come across with deepness, substance, control and explosiveness. A bit of this substance transfers to the basic tone, which enriches the sound with warmth and improves the voice reproduction. Don’t worry, the rest of the sound is also clean, tidy and highly dynamic, offering all the details and absolute clean dynamic distinction, even in the high frequencies.”

Conclusion:

“With the Phonitor xe, SPL delivers the ultimate device for all headphone enthusiasts, who value neutrality, preciseness and control, combined with great musicality.”

Find the complete review (in German) in the current edition (November/December 2018) of EAR IN magazine or an ePaper Download on their website.

Phonitor xe in EAR IN

Das Kopfhörermagazin EAR IN hat einen Testbericht über unseren Phonitor xe veröffentlicht.

„Mit dem ursprünglich für den professionellen Einsatz im Tonstudio konzipierten Kopfhörerverstärker Phonitor haben die Studioprofis von SPL ins Herz der Kopfhörerszene getroffen. Seitdem hat SPL die Modellreihe ausgebaut. Das jüngste Mitglied ist der Phonitor xe.“

„Wie alle Phonitor-Modelle arbeitet der Phonitor xe natürlich auch bei der Verstärkung mit der 120-V-Voltair Technik, die einen enormen dynamischen Spielraum bietet. Auch Fans der Crossfeed-Schaltung kommen auf ihre Kosten: Der Phonitor xe verfügt über die große Phonitor-Matrix mit ihren vielen Einstellungsmöglichkeiten.“

Klang:

„Als Kopfhörerverstärker klingen die SPL-Geräte alle schlicht einwandfrei. Sie bieten die Neutralität und Präzision, die man von hochwertigen Studiogeräten erwartet und schaffen dabei den Spagat, trotzdem musikalisch zu klingen.“

Als erster Phonitor überhaupt kann der Phonitor xe mit dem neuen DAC768 ausgestattet werden.
Dieser optionale interne Über-DAC befähigt den Phonitor xe Daten mit überragender Klangqualität zu wandeln.
32Bit Wortbreite und PCM-Abtastraten mit bis zu 768kHz, sowie DSD – hoch bis zu DSD256 – lauten die beeindruckenden Zahlen.

„Eine eigene Betrachtung verdient der eingebaute DAC. Denn im Vergleich zu anderen Geräten, mit denen ich gerne höre, erlaubt der sich einen ganz dezent eigenen Charakter. Der ist immer noch im Bereich Neutral angesiedelt, durch ausgewiesene Talente in Sachen Tiefton lenkt er jedoch die Aufmerksamkeit gerne auf die unteren Frequenzen, die mit Tiefe, Substanz, Kontrolle und Explosivität wirklich ausnehmend rüberkommen. Ein wenig dieser Substanz überträgt sich in den Grundton, was dem Klangbild einen Hauch von Wärme verleiht und der Stimmenwiedergabe zugutekommt. Keine Sorge, auch das restliche Klangbild ist klar, aufgeräumt und hoch dynamisch und bietet bis in die Höhen extrem viele Details und absolut saubere dynamische Differenzierung.“

Fazit:

„Mit dem Phonitor xe hat SPL das ultimative Gerät für alle Kopfhörer-Enthusiasten, die Wert auf Neutralität, Präzision und Kontrolle, gepaart mit hoher Musikalität legen.“

Den vollständigen Testbericht findet ihr in der aktuellen Ausgabe (November/Dezember 2018) der EAR IN oder als ePaper Download.