Phonitor x + DAC768xs in EAR IN

In the headphone magazine EAR IN, you’ll find a review about our Phonitor x with DAC768xs. We won’t give away too much but what we can say is that the device came out of the test as an EAR IN reference model with “very good” marks…
Since this is a German review, we provide you with a little summary:

“You could always hear that SPL has it main focus on studio technology using the Phonitor x. Fed with an analog signal, it behaves like a model student playing tonally neutral, with extremely high-resolution and just awesome in terms of dynamics.”

“This is what the SPL Phonitor models are famous for and why heaphone listeners around the globe love thiese devices beyond all measure.”

“And what about the DAC768xs module?”

“With the DAC768xs you expand both inputs of the Phonitor x (balanced and unbalanced line inputs) by three digital inputs: USB-B, S/PDIF coaxial and Toslink. It operates with 32 bits and PCM sample rates up to 768kHz as well as DSD4.”

“Fed with music files, the digitally upgraded Phonitor x with DAC768xs operates at the highest level.”

“The new [DAC] scores in terms of softskills, which music lovers just like pros know and value. These are, for example, a certain kind of radiance of the tones, more colorful and shining tone colors, more energy and excitement resided witin the music, which the Phonitor x with DAC768xs transports in a fascinating manner.”

Conclusion:

“With the new DAC768xs module, the Phonitor x really shows its phenomenal qualities as a headphone amplifier and preamp, even with digital sources connected. The finest technology straight out of the sound studio is now available for home users.”

Find the complete review (in German) in the current issue (1/20) of EAR IN magazine.

Phonitor x + DAC768xs in EAR IN

Im Kopfhörermagazin EAR IN findet ihr einen Testbericht über unserem Phonitor x mit dem neuen DAC768xs. Allzu viel wollen wir natürlich noch nicht verraten – nur so viel: abgeschlossen hat der Phonitor x den Test in der EAR IN-Referenzklasse und der Note „sehr gut“.
Den vollständigen Bericht findet ihr in der aktuellen Ausgabe (1/20) des Magazins.
Ein kleine Zusammenfassung gibt es hier:

„Das SPL seinen Schwerpunkt in der Studiotechnik hat, hat man dem Phonitor x schon immer angehört. Mit einem analogen Musiksignal versorgt, gibt er den Musterschüler und spielt tonal neutral, extrem hochauflösend und herrlich dynamisch.“

„Dafür kennt man die SPL-Phonitor-Modelle und dafür werden sie von Kopf-Hörern auf der ganzen Welt über die Maßen geschätzt.“

„Und das DAC768xs-Modul?“

„Mit dem DAC768xs erweitert man die beiden analogen Eingänge des Phonitor x (ein symmetrischer und ein unsymmetrischer Line-Eingang) um drei digitale Eingänge: USB-B, S/PDIF coaxial und Toslink. Das DAC768xs-Modul verarbeitet PCM-Daten bis 32Bit/768 kHz und DSD bis DSD256.“

„Mit Musikdaten versorgt, spielt der digital aufgerüstete Phonitor x mit DAC 68xs auf einem phänomenal hohen Niveau.“

Der Neue [DAC] punktet bei den Softskills, die Musikliebhaber wie Profis kennen und schätzen. Das sind etwa ein gewisses Strahlen der Töne, buntere, leuchtendere Klangfarben, mehr Energie und größere Spannung, die der Musik innezuwohnen scheint und die der Phonitor x mit DAC768xs auf eine faszinierende Weise rüberbringt.“

Fazit:

„Mit dem neuen DAC768xs-Modul spielt der Phonitor x seine phänomenalen Qualitäten als Kopfhörerverstärker und Vorstufe auch an digitalen Quellen voll aus. Feinste Technik aus dem Tonstudio für Zuhause.“