Phonitor xe @ The Headphoneer

The Headphoneer has made an extensive comparison test with our Phonitor xe and other headphone amplifiers. But that’s not all: various headphones were also used to really put the device through its paces. You want to know what came out of this field report? We highly recommend to check it out! We compiled a short summary for you:

“SPL has upped their game in recent years with a selection of no less than four versions of the Phonitor. They basically share the same standard headphone amplifier section, but vary in terms of connectivity options, functionality and output power.”

“The SPL Phonitor xe houses the same powerful balanced headphone amplifier as the Phonitor x and Phonitor e. It has several unusual features like a unique crossfeed-angle matrix and both rear and front headphone outputs. The Phonitor xe is available with an optional high-end DAC. This piece of equipment is made with both the professional and the headphone aficionado in mind.”

Design and Functionality:

“It has a gorgeous front panel that surely appeals to the audio geeks among us with lovely VU-meters and great-looking knobs and switches.”

“When it comes to the Phonitor Matrix, there are plenty of adjustment possibilities. You can adjust the amount of crossfeed in 6 steps and the simulated angle in 4 steps.”

“I did, however, find myself enjoying the Phonitor Matrix and could easily be accustomed to using it on a regular basis.”

Phonitor xe compared to other DAC/Amps:

“The Phonitor has better dynamics and more headroom; it also feels a bit warmer and fuller in the midrange.”

“The Phonitor drives the HD700 [headphones] beautifully. Spacious and dynamic, with a nice hint of warmth.“

Conclusion:

“The SPL Phonitor xe is a superb headphone amplifier. It is powerful enough to drive the most demanding headphones with authority. It is also silent enough to be used with very sensitive headphones. The unbalanced output is quite capable and has a pleasing sound with a sense of warmth and fullness.”

“It is, however, in balanced mode, that the Phonitor truly awakens. It sounds powerful and dynamic, clear and transparent – in a very natural and organic sounding way. Simultaneously it has a smooth, sometimes velvet-like tone. It is an amplifier that is impossible to dislike.”

With its multiple inputs, outputs and controls, and especially the excellent sounding crossfeed-matrix, it is a very unique headphone amplifier. The optional DAC768 is excellent and leaves me with no desire for upgrades.”

“When running the Phonitor xe in balanced mode, the amplifier (which is the same as in the Phonitor e and the x) is truly exceptional. As an all in one solution for headphone listening, the Phonitor xe is the best I have tested.”

Find the complete review online at headphoneer.com

Related Posts

Phonitor xe @ lite-Magazin

lite-magazin is an online magazine for lifestyle and technology. Editor Volker Frech did an extensive

Events

Due to Covid19 there are no events scheduled at this time.

What does it actually mean …

In Stock!

The product is in stock in our warehouse in Niederkrüchten, Germany, and will be shipped the same or next working day.

We process the orders after receipt of the order and update the stock in the online shop regularly. If the product is no longer available at short notice due to high order volume, you naturally have the right to withdraw from the purchase (see Right of Withdrawal).

In any case, you will receive an e-mail with details of the delivery and the estimated delivery time.

Available soon!

The product is not in stock in our warehouse in Niederkrüchten, Germany. Usually it will be available again within 5 working days.

In any case, you will receive an e-mail with the details of the delivery and the estimated delivery time.

Of course you have the right to withdraw from your purchase (see Right of Withdrawal).

Product Condition

A-Stock

Brand-new product from the current product portfolio.

B-Stock

Demo, exhibit or return item.
In original packaging, incl. manuals and full warranty.
Only slight to no signs of use.

C-Stock

Demo, exhibit or return item.
In original packaging, incl. manuals and legal warranty.
In some cases clear signs of use, which are documented in photos.

NOS

"New Old Stock"
After discontinuation of a product still available new products with full warranty.

Login

Phonitor xe @ The Headphoneer

The Headphoneer hat einen umfangreichen Vergleichstest mit unserem Phonitor xe und anderen Kopfhörerverstärkern unternommen. Doch damit nicht genug: auch verschiedene Kopfhörer kamen zum Einsatz, um das Gerät wirklich auf Herz und Nieren zu prüfen. Ihr wollt wissen was bei diesem Feldtest herausgekommen ist? Wir haben euch mal ein paar Auszüge zusammengestellt:

„SPL hat sich in den letzten Jahren mit einer Auswahl von nicht weniger als vier Versionen des Phonitors einen Namen gemacht. Sie teilen sich im Wesentlichen die gleiche Kopfhörerverstärker-Section, unterscheiden sich aber in Bezug auf Anschlussoptionen, Funktionalität und Ausgangsleistung.“

„Der SPL Phonitor xe bietet den gleichen leistungsstarken symmetrischen Kopfhörerverstärker wie der Phonitor x und der Phonitor e. Er verfügt über einige besondere Merkmale wie eine einzigartige Crossfeed-Angle-Matrix sowie Kopfhörerausgänge vorne und hinten am Gerät. Der Phonitor xe ist optional mit einem High-End-DAC erhältlich. Dieses Gerät ist sowohl für den Profi als auch für den Kopfhörer-Liebhaber gedacht.“

Design und Funktionalität:

„Es hat eine wunderbare Frontplatte, die mit ihren schönen VU-Metern und großartig aussehenden Knöpfen und Schaltern sicherlich die Audio-Freaks unter uns anspricht.“

„Bei der Phonitor-Matrix gibt es eine Fülle von Einstellungsmöglichkeiten. Man kann den Grad des Crossfeeds in 6 unterschiedlichen Stufen und den simulierten Winkel in 4 unterschiedlichen Stufen einstellen.“

„Ich fand Gefallen an der Phonitor-Matrix und könnte mich daran gewöhnen, sie regelmäßig zu benutzen.“

Phonitor xe im Vergleich zu anderen DAC/Amps:

„Der Phonitor hat eine bessere Dynamik und mehr Headroom; außerdem fühlt er sich im Mitteltonbereich etwas wärmer und voller an.“

„Der Phonitor betreibt den HD700 [Kopfhörer] auf wunderbare Weise. Räumlich und dynamisch, mit einem angenehmen Hauch von Wärme.“

Fazit:

„Der SPL Phonitor xe ist ein hervorragender Kopfhörerverstärker. Er ist leistungsstark genug, um auch die anspruchsvollsten Kopfhörer mit der nötigen Autorität zu steuern, aber auch leise genug, um mit sehr empfindlichen Kopfhörern verwendet werden zu können. Der unsymmetrische Ausgang ist sehr leistungsfähig und hat einen angenehmen warmen und vollen Klang.“

„Im symmetrischen Modus erwacht der Phonitor richtig zum Leben. Es klingt kraftvoll und dynamisch, klar und transparent – auf eine sehr natürlich und organisch klingende Weise. Gleichzeitig hat er einen weichen, manchmal samtartigen Ton. Man muss diesen Verstärker einfach mögen.“

„Mit seinen zahlreichen Ein- und Ausgängen, den vielen Regelmöglichkeiten und vor allem der hervorragend klingenden Crossfeed-Matrix ist er ein einzigartiger Kopfhörerverstärker. Der optionale DAC768 ist ausgezeichnet und lässt keinen Wunsch nach Verbesserungen offen.“

„Wenn der Phonitor xe im symmetrischen Modus betrieben wird, ist der Verstärker (wie beim Phonitor e und x) wirklich außergewöhnlich. Der Phonitor xe ist die beste Lösung für das Hören mit Kopfhörern, die ich getestet habe.

Den vollständigen Testbericht (in Englisch) findet ihr online bei headphoneer.com