Hermes @ Bonedo

You wished for a review with sound samples of our Hermes? Bonedo fulfills that wish. Felix Klostermann has taken a close look at our Mastering Router. Here, we provide you with a short summary:

“The SPL Hermes is a mastering router or a highly flexible insert matrix for up to eight stereo processors on one stereo bus. Like all other devices of the latest generation, this stylish 19-inch box (2 U) comes in the trendy colors red with black inlays, black with silver inlays as well as “All Black” (our test device). All control elements have a high-quality feel and a logical structure.”

“The amber illuminated buttons really look extremely good, are wonderful to use and of the highest quality. Even the multi-digit old-school 7-segment display is really big, easy to read and not a bit strenuous for the eyes. There are also no blue LEDs – thanks SPL, thanks!”

Sound:

“The high rail voltage of these proprietary operational amplifiers (120 V = ±60 V) provides more headroom, minimum distortion and maximum signal-to-noise ratio as well as maximum dynamic range. Without revealing too much: the Hermes does not sound at all. In other words: it doesn’t color at all and that’s good!”

“Also remarkable: The gains of all I/O as well as L and R were absolutely precise. The gain was accurate to the decimal point and there were no changes – no matter in which constellation I measured!”

“And that was basically it.”
“And to answer the question of what the Hermes does with the signal, I simply connected all inserts with short XLR cables and thus put all inserts on cables. And as you can hear, you can’t hear any difference!”
You’ll find the sound examples online on page 2 of the review.

Conclusion:

“The SPL Hermes does what it is supposed to do and is absolutely neutral in terms of sound. The free linking of all inserts makes it very flexible to use. The technical effort for this is enormous and the the price is reasonable considering the high German manufacturing quality.”

Find the complete review (in German) online at Bonedo.

Hermes @ Bonedo

Ihr habt euch einen Testbericht mit Klangbeispielen zum Hermes gewünscht? Bonedo erfüllt euch diesen Wunsch. Felix Klostermann hat unseren Mastering Router ganz genau unter die Lupe genommen. Eine kleine Zusammenfassung gibt es hier:

„Der SPL Hermes ist ein Mastering-Router oder auch eine hochflexible Insertier-Matrix für bis zu acht Stereoprozessoren auf einem Stereobus. Wie alle anderen Geräte der neusten Generation kommt auch dieser schicke 19-Zoll-Kasten (2 HE) in den Trendfarben Rot mit schwarzen Inlays, Schwarz mit silbernen Inlays sowie „All Black“ (unser Testexemplar) daher. Alle Bedienelemente fassen sich hochwertig an und sind logisch strukturiert.“

„Die amber beleuchteten Taster sehen wirklich extrem gut aus, sind wunderbar zu bedienen und zeugen von höchster Qualität. Auch die mehrstellige „Old-School“-7-Segment-Anzeige ist richtig groß, top zu lesen und kein bisschen anstrengend für die Augen. Es gibt auch keine blauen LEDs – danke SPL, danke!“

Klang:

„Die hohe Rail-Spannung dieser proprietären Operationsverstärker (120 V = ±60 V) sorgt für mehr Headroom, minimale Verzerrungen und maximalen Rauschabstand sowie maximale Dynamik. Ohne zu viel vorweg nehmen zu wollen: Der Hermes klingt absolut nicht. Also anders gesprochen: Er hat keinen Eigenklang und das ist gut so!“

„Ebenfalls bemerkenswert: Die Gains aller I/O sowie L und R waren absolut präzise. Der Gain stimmte auf die Kommastelle genau und es gab keine Veränderungen – egal in welcher Konstellation ich gemessen habe!“

„Und das war es im Prinzip auch schon.“
„Und um die Frage zu beantworten, was der Hermes mit dem Signal macht, hab ich einfach mal alle Inserts mit kurzen XLR-Kabeln verbunden und so alle Inserts auf Kabel gelegt. Und wie ihr hört, hört ihr keinen Unterschied!“

Die Klangbeispiele findet ihr online auf Seite 2 des Tests.

Fazit:

„Der SPL Hermes macht, was er soll und ist klanglich dabei absolut neutral. Die freie Verknüpfung aller Inserts macht die Benutzung sehr flexibel. Der technische Aufwand dafür ist enorm und der aufgerufene Preis in Anbetracht der hohen deutschen Verarbeitungsqualität gerechtfertigt.“

Das vollständige Review findet ihr online bei Bonedo.