Director Mk2 & Performer s800 in HiFi-Stars

“A combination for all cases.”

You can find two reviews in one in HiFi-Stars magazine (edition 47). Wolfgang Vogel has extensively examined our DA Converter and Preamplifier SPL Director Mk2 as well as the Performer s800 power amplifier and is enthusiastic about the combination. As always, we offer you a short summary here:

Technology:

“The Director Mk2 has a total of six analog stereo inputs. Two of them are designed as XLR connectors (input resistance 10 kohms) and four as RCA connectors (RCA inputs with 47 kohms resistance).”

“The AK4490 Velvet Sound is used as converter chip. This results in the following sampling rates available at 32bit (with encoded PCM): 44.1, 48, 88.2, 96, 176.4, 192, 352.8, 384, 705.6 and 768kHz. For DSD the formats DSD1 (DSD64), DSD2 (DSD128) and DSD4 (DSD256) can be used. Ain’t that somethin’?”

“The Performer s800 offers impressive performance data considering its unobtrusive physique: 2x285WRMS in 4 ohms, 2x185WRMS in 8 ohms and 1x450WRMS in 8 ohms in bridge mode are supplied…”

“On the connection side, everything that is useful and usable is offered – up to the (again) popular tape loop. I will spare you and myself any further technical data – it should suffice that these are all first-class.”

Sound:

“To be honest, it doesn’t really exist. The SPLs are extremely close to the notorious amplifying ‘piece of wire’… If you feel committed to the ideal of high fidelity and only want to hear what is actually on the recording medium, then this combination is the perfect choice!”

“Director Mk2 and Performer s800 always impressed with their apparent absence. They hit AC/DCs ‘High Voltage‘ just as hard as they did the soulful-expressive playing style of Ivo Pogorelich – these are simply first-class amplifiers!”

Conclusion:

“The ‘Director 2’ demonstrates exemplary neutrality, typical for a studio. A power amplifier that can handle both high-efficiency (horn) speakers and power-hungry speakers (of whatever color) – that’s the SPL Performer s800. In combination, the duo is lightning-fast and reproduces neutrally, but still powerful and never lacks anything… an acoustically straightforward and versatile amplifier combination for all high-fidelity cases…!”

Director Mk2 & Performer s800 in HiFi-Stars

„Eine Kombination für alle Fälle.“

Im HiFi-Stars Magazin (Ausgabe 47) findet ihr gleich zwei Testberichte in einem. Wolfgang Vogel hat sich ausgiebig mit unserem DA-Wandler und Vorverstärker SPL Director Mk2 sowie der Performer s800 Endstufe beschäftigt und ist begeistert von der Kombination. Wir bieten euch hier wie immer eine kleine Zusammenfassung:

Technik:

„Der ,Director 2‘ verfügt über insgesamt sechs analoge Stereoeingänge. Davon sind zwei als XLR-Anschlüsse ausgelegt (Eingangswiderstand 10 kOhm) und vier als RCA-Konnektoren (Cinch Inputs mit 47kOhm Widerstand).“

„Als Wandlerchip kommt der „AK4490 Velvet Sound“ zum Einsatz. Daraus resultieren die bei 32bit verfügbaren Abtastraten von (bei codiertem PCM): 44.1, 48, 88.2, 96, 176.4, 192, 352.8, 384, 705.6 und 768kHz, bei DSD sind die Formate DSD1 (DSD64), DSD2 (DSD128) und DSD4 (DSD256) nutzbar. Wenn das mal nichts ist!“

„Die Performer s800 bietet angesichts ihrer zurückhaltenden Physis beeindruckende Leistungsdaten: 2x285WRMS an 4Ohm, 2x185WRMS an 8Ohm respektive 1x450WRMS an 8Ohm im Bridge Mode stehen zur Verfügung…“

„Anschlußseitig wird alles geboten, was sinnvoll und nutzbar ist – bis hin zur (wieder) angesagten Tape-Schleife. Weitere technische Daten erspare ich Ihnen wie mir – es soll genügen, daß diese allesamt erstklassig sind.“

Klang:

„Wenn ich ehrlich bin: den gibt es eigentlich gar nicht. Die SPLs sind dem berühmt-berüchtigten ,verstärkenden Stück Draht‘ nach meinem Empfinden extrem nahe… Wer sich dem Ideal der ,High Fidelity‘, also der hohen Klangtreue, verpflichtet fühlt und nur hören will, was tatsächlich auf dem Tonträger drauf ist, liegt mit dieser Kombi goldrichtig!“

„Immer glänzten Director 2 und Performer s800 durch scheinbare Abwesenheit. Dabei schlugen sie bei AC/DCs ,High Voltage‘ genauso heftig zu, wie sie die beseelt-expressive Spielweise Ivo Pogorelichs zur Geltung brachten – einfach erstklassige Verstärker!“

Fazit:

„Der ,Director 2‘ legt, studiotypisch, exemplarische Neutralität an den Tag. Eine Endstufe, die sowohl mit wirkungsgradstarken (Horn-)Lautsprechern klarkommt, wie mit leistungshungrigen Speakern (welcher Couleur auch immer) – das ist die SPL Performer s800. In der Kombination zeigt sich das Duo blitzschnell im Antritt und neutral reproduzierend, aber dennoch kraftvoll und nie etwas vermissen lassend… eine akustisch schnörkellos- wandlungsfähige Verstärkerkombi für alle highfidelen Fälle…!“