Director Mk2 @ HiFi-IFAs

We are very happy to show you this new blog post with a new review of our Director Mk2. We’d like to say thank you to the HiFi-IFAs for this review which is definitely worth reading. Here on our blog, we provide you with an English summary – you’ll find the complete complimentary review (in German) at HiFi-IFAs . The website is definitely worth a visit!

Check out what Falk Visarius, one of the three IFAs, writes about our Director Mk2:

“This test gives the Director Mk2 the attention it deserves. Because it is not only an analog preamplifier but also, at a price of 3.499 euros, provides a veritable digital/analog converter.”

“To be honest, the device caught my attention because of its look, which through its instrument-like and functional design radiates a high commitment. The round pointer instruments also contribute to that. The reference to pro audio technology is clearly visible, even unplugged.”

Technology:

“The digital/analog conversion inside the SPL Director Mk2 has completely been renewed. With the main focus on the AK4490 Velvet Sound® DAC chip from AKM. The AK4490 supports 32 bit and sample rates up to 768kHz for PCM digital signals as well as DSD4 or DSD256 for direct stream digital signals.”

“The Director Mk2 converter module operates with the 120 Volt VOLTAiR technology which allows a better signal processing. The newly developed DLP120 module combines the two elements in its name: ‘Dual Low Pass’ and 120 Volt. DLP is two separated analog filters in VOLTAiR technology which, depending on the nature of the digital input signal, send the analog signal through respective PCM or DSD filters.”

Sound:

“The Director didn’t hide anything. Digital technology doesn’t always sound the same. This is what the device points out.”

“Even though externally connected D/A converters can be the icing on the cake, the built-in DAC 768 is at such a high level that it creates a wonderful symbiosis in combination with the Director Mk2.”

Conclusion:

“At a price of 3.499 euros, the Director Mk2 offers a fully-featured compact preamplifier, which is perfectly rounded-off by the powerful built-in D/A converter. The instrument-like housing, which is also available in prominent red, radiates professional significance which is continued within the sound-character. The Director Mk2 controls, doesn’t take anything away, does not add or color anything. An honest contemporary in the role of a director, in which you can trust blindly.”

Find the complete review (in German) online at HiFi-IFAs.

Director Mk2 @ HiFi-IFAs

Wir freuen uns euch in diesem Blog-Post über einen weiteren Testbericht von unserem SPL Director Mk2 zu berichten. Wir bedanken uns bei HiFi-IFAs für diese lesenswerte Review. Hier bei uns im Blog gibt es eine kleine Zusammenfassung – den vollständigen Testbericht gibt es kostenlos bei HiFi-IFAs. Ein Besuch dort lohnt sich also auf jeden Fall!

Falk Visarius, einer der drei IFAs, schreibt über unseren Director Mk2:

„Dieser Test räumt dem Director Mk2 die Aufmerksamkeit ein, die ihm gebührt. Ist er doch nicht nur ein analoger Vorverstärker sondern bringt zum Preis von 3.499 Euro auch gleich ein veritables Digital/Analog-Wandlermodul mit.“

„Mein Interesse wurde ehrlich gesagt durch die Optik der Geräte geweckt, die durch die betont instrumentenhafte und sachliche Gestaltung eine hohe Verbindlichkeit ausstrahlen. Die runden Zeigerinstrumente tragen ihr Übriges dazu bei. Der Bezug zur Profi-Technik ist so schon im stromlosen Zustand hergestellt.“

Technik:

„Die Digital/Analog-Wandung im SPL Director Mk2 wurde komplett neu entwickelt. Im Mittelpunkt steht der AK4490-Velvet Sound®-Wandlerchip von AKM. Der AK4490 verarbeitet eine Bittiefe bis 32 Bit und verkraftet maximale Abtastraten von 768kHz für PCM-Digitalsignale sowie DSD4 oder DSD256 für Direct-Stream-Digitalsignale.“

„Im Director Mk2 Wandlermodul arbeitet die VOLTAiR-Technik mit 120 Volt, die eine bessere Signalverarbeitung ermöglicht. Das neu entwickelte DLP120-Modul trägt die Technologien im Namen: ”Dual Low Pass“ und 120 Volt. DLP sind zwei getrennte analoge Filter in VOLTAiR-Technik, die je nach Art des digitalen Eingangssignals das analoge Signal durch entsprechende PCM- oder den DSD-Filter schicken.“

Klang:

„Der Director verschwieg nichts. Digital Technik klingt nicht immer gleich. Das machte er klar.“

„Auch wenn extern analog angeschlossene D/A-Wandler ein Sahnehäubchen darstellen können, so ist der eingebaute DAC 768 auf einem derartigen Niveau, dass im Verbund mit dem Director Mk2 eine wunderbare Symbiose entsteht.“

Fazit:

„Der SPL Director Mk2 bietet für 3.499 Euro als kompakter Vorverstärker eine umfassende Ausstattung, die sich durch den eingebauten leistungsfähigen D/A-Wandler hervorragend abrundet. Das instrumentenhafte Gehäuse, das auch in markantem rot erhältlich ist, strahlt professionelle Wertigkeit aus, die sich im Klangcharakter fortsetzt. Der Director Mk2 kontrolliert, nimmt nichts weg, gibt nichts dazu, beschönigt nichts. Ein ehrlicher Zeitgenosse in der Rolle des Anlagenverwalters, dem man blind vertrauen an.“

Den vollständigen Testbericht findet ihr online bei HiFi-IFAs.